What #SOL16 has taught me so far

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Things I have learned by day 8 of the Slice of Life challenge:

  1. Writing is really hard.
  2. I overthink my overthinking.
  3. Writing is really hard, but I think I can do this.
  4. I wish I lived on East Coast Time so I could procrastinate all the way until 11:59 instead of 8:59 PM.
  5. Writing is really hard, but I have done it every day for 8 days. (Actually I do it every day, but I am not counting work emails, grocery lists, texts, and demo writing I do with students.  Because that writing isn’t just for me.  This writing is).
  6. How to make my slice of life logo smaller so that my posts don’t look like they were created by a moron.
  7. Writing is really hard, but I like it.
  8. Reading other people’s slices is amazing.
  9. Writing is really hard, but if I get out of my own way, sometimes I like what I create.
  10. There is no excitement that compares to the excitement of seeing that someone commented on my post.
  11. Writing is really hard, but also, it’s not that hard.  It’s even kind of fun.

15 thoughts on “What #SOL16 has taught me so far

  1. Hi! I like how you repeat “writing is really hard” and then extend the idea. Lots of gems here. The line “if I get out of my own way, sometimes I like what I create” really speaks to me. Great way of illustrating a complex thing/dance we do when writing. Your post would be great to share with students. It’s so accessible. It’s also a great reminder of the hard thing we are asking our students to do.

    Like

  2. I too love the title of your blog. This list post is wonderful. Yes, this daily writing is hard, but so much fun. I’m on the west coast too so I feel your procrastination pain!

    Like

  3. Writing is really hard, but it is fun too. And the comments are just the frosting on the cake. Someone read your words and they say nice things. What better reward for writing is that? You have made some great discoveries, wonder what else you will discover by the end of the month. 🙂

    Like

  4. I love number nine, probably true for most of us, that looking again and again & questioning if “it” is okay. I like your reflection, agree with each part, and love the creative approach.

    Like

  5. I thought I was the only one who overthinks my overthinking! Now I don’t feel so alone. I LOVE your list and was thinking that at some point – probably day 30, I would write something similar! Thanks for posting.

    Like

  6. Such a great list. Number 5 is my favorite.

    “(Actually I do it every day, but I am not counting work emails, grocery lists, texts, and demo writing I do with students. Because that writing isn’t just for me. This writing is).”

    Do write for yourself!!! And give yourself a break – 8 days done!

    Like

  7. I find this challenge to be really hard at first, easier in the middle, and then hard again at the end. I’m always glad when I complete it, though, and I think I’m a better writer at the end of March than at the beginning. I loved this post. The list is a great structure for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Such smart discoveries this month has already offered you. I agree — writing can be hard — and the comments, or celebrations of taking your writing public, are the icing on the cake. Writing can also be fickle. Sometimes I feel like the pieces I spend the most time on get smallish reviews, while others I write between emails fare much better. But, in the end, “I write to hold my life (our life) in my hands and declare it significant.” These words = treasure. Right?
    Write.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Totally agree with you, writing is really hard! Number 4 seems to be my mantra this year. I really would prefer to write in the morning, but this year I’m just not getting to it until really late!

    Like

Leave a comment