Just take a leap

One of the most difficult things about my job as a staff developer is getting teachers to take a leap of faith into something very new and different for them.  A workshop approach to teaching just works.   It does. It DOES.  IT DOES.  I promise.  I model, break it down into little chunks, plan, guide, support, and hopefully inspire along the way.  But it is very different than how many teachers were taught and/or have taught for years and years and years.  This means that the shift to this kind of teaching is a 180 degree difference for many people.  Which I understand is hard.  If you made me drive to work backwards, blow dry my hair with my other hand, and stand on my head all day, I would probably struggle and push back as well.

What makes it hard is that if you don’t do it, your kids struggle with writing, so it feels like you have to keep doing what you are doing to get them good enough to handle writer’s workshop.  This is like me saying I’m too fat to go to the gym.

I wish I could hold these teacher’s hands and then give them a gentle push into this new territory.  I know that if they tried it, they would see the joy and in their students’ eyes as they develop as writers.  It takes a little patience to wait to see those results, but when they happen, those results are breathtaking and amazing and inspiring for all around.

5 thoughts on “Just take a leap

  1. So much truth in today’s slice. I’ve been doing a lot of thinking around this very topic.
    It does just work. It does.
    All this reminds me of the part of Ruth Culham’s 6+1 Traits book that equates learning how to write with learning how to drive. We don’t learn to drive by just reading a book and doing activities that hope to get us to proficiency. Likewise we don’t learn how to write by doing activities and doing a textbook. We learn to write by writing.
    So, write. Right?
    Keep trucking. I believe 153% you’re traveling the road to success.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always try to start with the teachers who are enthusiastic. As others see their success, they’ll want to know the “secret”.

    Like

  3. Such a challenge. Getting teachers to move out of their comfort zone…and there is so much of that right now. Keep at it and continue to share what you believe is right and best for students!

    Like

Leave a Reply

