Quirks

  1. I will always, always, always carry 100 things too many rather than take a second trip.
  2. I wake up to NPR because alarms that buzz, beep, and scream ruin my day before I am even awake.
  3. I am physically incapable of doing only one thing at a time.  (Right now I am watching Homeland, typing this, and drinking coffee).
  4. I can’t relax when closet doors are open.  They are a reminder that something needs to be done.
  5. Digging and planting center me.  (Yes, the literal ground literally grounds me)
  6. Turning nouns into verbs when there is a perfectly good verb available feels like fingernails on a chalkboard to me (I die a little inside every time I hear the words conferencing and inferencing).
  7. I am sympathetic to people who get annoyed when people use ‘literally’ incorrectly, (although it doesn’t bother me in the slightest).  And I am also totally aware that I just did it.  Additionally, I realize that this is pretty hypocritical in light of the whole ‘conferencing/inferencing’ thing.  But I had to.
  8. I really want to correct people when they are wrong.  Even if I don’t know them.  Or they are not talking to me.  Or if it doesn’t matter in the slightest. “Was it Monday or was it Tuesday?  I think it was Monday…..”  “NO!!!”  I swoop in to save the day.  “It was Wednesday.”   I have enough self control that I do more of these corrections inside of my head instead of out loud, but some would say not enough of them…
  9. Book stores make me soooooo happy.
  10. I love smoothies in the morning because chewing is too much work before 6:00 AM.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Quirks

  1. This is definitely you! I cannot relax and go to sleep if closet doors are open because of a stupid closet based urban legend horror story you told me one summer night when we were kids! (That’s my secret quirk.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

