The Things They Carried

With special thanks to my sister for being my writing partner!

 

I drove past a shopping cart full of someone’s belongings the other day.  Right on top, in a place of honor, was the stuffed unicorn from Despicable Me (if you’ve seen the movie it’s the, “IT’S SO FLUFFY I’M GONNA DIE” unicorn) and it made me wonder…

About choices.

And things.

And what to bring.

What if the choices life handed down made it so that I had to decide which and what were the things I could take with me?

What would be my fluffy unicorn…the thing that I would balance on top, in the place of honor, for everyone to see?

This is me.  This is my defining possession.

Is it the thing you cherish most?  Or the thing that is

closest

to

hand

that gets taken for the ride?

2 thoughts on “The Things They Carried

Leave a Reply

