The end of an era

I grew up as a baby person in a house full of books.  My dad at over 70 years old can still recite the words to Good Night Moon, my sister patiently read to me, the librarians at three libraries knew us by name, and Vroman’s….ahhhhh….Vroman’s!  Vroman’s Book Store was and still is my happiest of happy places.  In about seventh grade, while most of my friends had crushes on boys, I fell so in love with the book Where the Red Fern Grows that I began reading it aloud to my mom the second I finished it.  She sat crocheting while I read, both of us crying in the soft lamp light.

I grew up as a baby teacher in a school full of teachers who didn’t read.  Well, they didn’t buy any books, so I assume they didn’t read.  “I’m not spending my own money on that,” they would say, horrified that someone might have insinuated they would.  “If they want me to have it, then they can pay for it.”  Their ideas of current children’s literature included the likes of Corduroy, Dr. Seuss, and Ramona Quimby. I have nothing against any of these (actually…can I admit that I really don’t like Dr. Seuss books very much?), but “current” is definitely not the best word to describe them.

I felt like one of those flowers growing out of a crack in a rock at that school.  Desperately trying to dig my roots through impossible ground, stretching to find some sign of sun and the occasional drop of water to nourish me as I grew as a teacher and a reader.  But it was hard.  So the only outlet for me to share my book love was with my students.  And that was perfect for me.  I would go to the bookstore, the library, and my own personal stash to find books that we all would love.  If I found out someone loved skateboarding, you could be sure I got skatebooks (ok that was a typo, but I liked it, so I am leaving it).  When kids got excited about our class garden, I found every plant book I could find.  Mercy Watson was what I used to bribe my students to behave. If they didn’t get their work done, sorry, no Mercy today (don’t worry….they ALWAYS got their work done when Mercy was on the line).  And then I discovered this cute book about a little girl and her bunny written by this quirky guy who used to write for….Sesame Street!  Sesame Street?  Turned children’s book author?  Ummmm…..perfect job #1 meet perfect job #2.

So for my fellow book nerds, of course I am talking about Knuffle Bunny (that’s Kuh-nuffle for those of you who don’t know).  For the middle school teachers and such out there who haven’t read this book, the rest of us will have a moment of silence for you right now.

*pause*

Needless to say, we all loved this book.  We read it and read it and read it until it mostly fell apart and then I bought a new copy and we read it some more.  Soon more Knuffle Bunny books and the famous Pigeon books joined their ranks.  And then Elephant and Piggie happened.

World. Rocked.

For those of you who don’t know, the Elephant and Piggie books are a set of easy readers.  What makes them different from other easy readers is that they actually have a plot, are funny, and are just amazing to read.  Maybe I should be embarrassed to tell you this, but my students, my children, my husband, and I always knew the release date of the next Gerald and Piggie book.  Every time one was about to come out, I would dutifully add three copies to my Amazon cart-one for home, one for my class, and one for my husband’s school.  All three of my kids and year after year classrooms full of students found a love of reading between the pages of these books.

Fast forward to yesterday when I opened my email from Barnes and Noble, so excited to find that there was another book in the series to be released…..and then my heart stopped…

elephant and piggie

(Insert that screechy brake noise here)  Wait….what?  Final book?  WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY?  This is the end of an era for me.  The end of a piece of something I treasured with lots of lots of little people.  Sigh.

I can picture a not too distant May evening when my three copies of a soon-to-be-favorite book arrive, sitting on my couch with my children snuggled around.  Maybe this time I will be the one crocheting while my kids read a book to me.

All of us crying in the soft lamplight.

7 thoughts on “The end of an era

  1. I loved your description of yourself as a new teacher. “I felt like one of those flowers growing out of a crack in a rock at that school. Desperately trying to dig my roots through impossible ground, stretching to find some sign of sun and the occasional drop of water to nourish me as I grew as a teacher and a reader.” You stayed the course and brought your love of reading to your students! Good for you! And now you must say goodbye to a dear book series – that is always hard. I am not familiar with these books, but the feeling might be similar to the end of the Harry Potter series. My sympathies!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful storytelling, but I have to say YOU SCARED ME!!

    As soon as I read the word Knufflebunny, I started scanning at breakneck speed… terrified of what I might see as I scrolled down the page.

    So here’s how I’m choosing to view the news: It’s GRAND!
    You know why?
    Because it means something NEWLY wonderful is coming our way.

    And Willem is just fine! 😉

    Like

  3. I did not know Mo Willems was ending the series – oh no! I loved these words: “I began reading it aloud to my mom the second I finished it.” The image of the two of you crying is so beautiful and precious. I know about colleagues who are not crazy about books and it is an insufferable trait!!!

    Like

  4. this slice made me feel all warm & cozy. I, too, am a book lover from a book-loving family, living in a book-loving family. I, too, remember those early teaching days were folks tried to convince me daily that I was a strange & unusual bird because of my differences in methods/centuries/bookishness. Beautiful!

    Like

  5. I thought you were sharing bad news about Mo Willems too! Phew! Although boo to ending Elephant and Piggie. My daughter came home from kindergarten–her first year exposed to English–and announced that we had to go to the library and look for books by Mo Willems. I figured she had the name wrong…she didn’t.

    And as a middle school teacher, those are GREAT books to have students read aloud, with feeling!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

